I guess it’s a day that comes in most stitchers’ lives; that day when you have to face up to the face you don’t see as well as you used to do and you can no longer stitch some of the things you’ve started. I’ve known this for a while, even if I’ve been trying to avoid admitting it.

I now see better up close (ie when stitching) with my glasses off than with my glasses on. But if I want to stitch and watch TV (something I used to do all the time) I need something big enough that I can see it with my glasses on.

This has forced me into a hard acknowledgement. Basically that, if I want to watch TV, I can no longer stitch on anything smaller that the equivalent of 16-count (ie my favourite 32-ct Belfast over 2) and even that is pushing it.

While I’ve been working on Defender of the Kingdom recently (1 over 1 on 25-ct lugana or whatever it’s called now) I’ve been listening to podcasts or audio plays and leaving my glasses off. That’s fine if that’s what I want to do.

But…

The Rugby World Cup is on right now and while I’m not a mad keen rugby fan, I am a New Zealander who grew up in a rugby household. That means I’d like to be able to do some stitching while watching the matches. If I try to do nothing more than sit there and watch it drives me batty. I need to be doing something with my hands.

But of my current WIPs, especially now I’ve tossed out Cinderella (see today’s earlier post), I find I’m left with very little that I can actually see if I want to be able to leave my glasses on while stitching.

  • Defender of the Kingdom, 1 over 1 on 25, NO
  • Dawn Star, 1 over 1 on 25, NO
  • Garnet, 1 over 1 on 25, NO
  • Dragonfly Quaker, 1 over 1 on 28, NO
  • Second Chances, 1 over 1 on 32 (was I insane?), NO
  • The Bookshelf, 2 over 2 on 32, but totally not interested right now, NO
  • Illuminated Medieval Sampler, 2 over 2 on 32, on floor stand, YES

Are we seeing a trend here? I love those 1 over 1 projects, but I can’t stitch them like I used to. So I have pulled Chatelaine’s Illuminated Medieval Sampler out of the study, pulled off the quilt that covers it (I made it to cover Marcus’ incubator, so it’s the perfect size for covering the stitching on a floor stand) and set it up in the lounge. I hadn’t worked on it in nearly a year and I must say that I’m enjoying it, so that’s good. When this bit of enthusiasm burns out (or the World Cup ends), I don’t know what I’ll do after that. For now, I’ll see if I can make some progress on this one.

I took a photo of my progress up to last night, so that’ll be the next post.

