Via Flickr:
20 September 2013

Marcus, being a 9 year old boy, has the bad habit of growing. His weighted blanket is now too short and he asked me to make it longer. This proved to be a lot easier said than done, but I’ve got it finished now.

I almost killed my poor old and loyal sewing machine in the process. I think sewing the two sections together pushed it to, and probably a bit beyond, it’s natural limits. I broke three or four needles and instead of the single unbroken length of zig-zag I was imagining, it’s lots of short lengths of stitching before the thread broke or the machine locked up or the needle broke. I’ll have to sit down between now and bedtime and tie of the many thread ends.

But it is done and my faithful machine has survived. I guess bedtime tonight will be the big test.

