The beginning of the year is a dangerous time as I find I have all these ideas of what I’d like to do – and then, of course, reality sets in and I realise I can’t do all those things.

Anyway, as I wrote my WIPocalypse 2014 post, I said I was trying to decide whether to carry on with my restart of Defender of the Kingdom or to go back to my original one. While I love the speed of tenting 2 over 1 on 28-ct, I’m not as happy with the textural look of it. It’s a lot more “lumpy” than cross stitches 1 over 1 on 25ct, which is what I had done before.

Then another stitcher on the NZ cross stitch Facebook group asked about working on a HAED design and finding that the texture is different between the confetti and the large areas of only one or two colours. It reminded me that I wasn’t convinced I was happy with my restart.

So I pulled out both pieces and lay them on the floor together. I think I’m 90% decided I’m going back to the original one. It’s slower, but I think it looks better. I’m fussy about that and I think I’d be very unhappy if I got to the end and wasn’t happy with how it looked after all that work.

What do you think?

Top is tent stitch 2 over 1 on 28-ct; Bottom is cross stitch 1 over 1 on 25-ct.

Top is tent stitch 2 over 1 on 28-ct; Bottom is cross stitch 1 over 1 on 25-ct.

